Welcome Visitor...

Latest News

- WKA Event Competitions..
- Enhancement changes...
- Posting etiquette
- Ship layout audit testing
- Planet capturing now allowed...
- Do not capture or bomb planets in beta...
- Important Key Binding Changes
- Layout updates...
- Ship Testing Update...
- Reminder regarding ship testing

Latest Topics

Network

DarkSpace
DarkSpace - Beta
Palestar

Search

 

[FAQ
Forum Index » » Beta Testing Discussion » » Can't get into Beta?
Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next Page )
 Author Can't get into Beta?
Drafell
Grand Admiral
Mythica

Joined: May 30, 2003
Posts: 2449
From: United Kingdom
Posted: 2006-02-11 20:48   
If you have problems login into beta, please post below(with relevant error msg), and I'll see if I can help you circumvent these issues.
_________________
It's gone now, no longer here...Yet still I see, and still I fear.rnrn
rnrn
DarkSpace Developer - Retired

  Goto the website of Drafell   ICQ status
Drow
Fleet Admiral

Joined: June 06, 2003
Posts: 449
From: USA, WI
Posted: 2006-02-12 07:28   
Great! Thanks for your help


Im just gana repeat cause I can

On User Login; instantly after clicking on the Login button: new window "A error occured on the server. please try again later". I am getting the feeling this may be client side since the error is so fast that I do not believe it is acualy trying to talk to the server.

If I replace sugested files; corememory.dll, debug.dll, factory.dll, file.dll, gcql.dll, gcql.exe, network.dll, networkws.dll, selfupdate.dll,standard.dll - On the Darkspace.exe I get a error window "The procedure entry point ??1String@Medusa@@QAE@XZ could not be located in the dynamic link library Standard.dll.

If I just run gcql.exe, then the last active window becomes active and the program dosent run (or terminates itself with no reason).

This is same situation with both beta downloads, uninstall with folder deleted.

[ This Message was edited by: Ğrow on 2006-02-12 08:04 ]
_________________
Nindol tangi, dos zhal zah'har l' jiv'undus d'
natha szithrel Tagnik'zun elggor

  ICQ status
Doran
Chief Marshal
Galactic Navy


Joined: March 29, 2003
Posts: 4026
From: The Gideon Unit
Posted: 2006-02-12 16:18   
here's a copy of my beta folder, for those getting errors

[small][ This Message was edited by: Doran on 2006-02-12 16:45 ][/small]


[ This Message was edited by: Doran on 2006-02-13 13:30 ]
_________________


  ICQ status
Drafell
Grand Admiral
Mythica

Joined: May 30, 2003
Posts: 2449
From: United Kingdom
Posted: 2006-02-12 17:15   
Thnx doran, that should pretty much fix it.

I also heavily advise that anyone using Beta edits thier config.ini and sets both instances of "doUpdate=1" to "doUpdate=0". there should be one under the [GCQL] section and one under [Client]. Once this is done you can set the config.ini to read only.

This will prevent the Auto-update feature from working, and will allow you to log into the Beta Lobby and run the update manually.
From past experience, the manual update is a lot more reliable than the auto-update feature, and seems to run less risk of corrupting your Beta Installation if it fails.
_________________
It's gone now, no longer here...Yet still I see, and still I fear.rnrn
rnrn
DarkSpace Developer - Retired

  Goto the website of Drafell   ICQ status
Drow
Fleet Admiral

Joined: June 06, 2003
Posts: 449
From: USA, WI
Posted: 2006-02-12 20:47   
The config.ini, both with Doran's DL, and the default install; only has 1 DoUpdate line. I had to manualy add 2 more.
Under [Client]
doUpdate=0

And create the line at the end of file
[Server]
doUpdate=0

The one under client may not be needed, did not test. The one under Server was a necessity, without it on joining Beta server I would goto update window, it would not update any files, then would dump me to desktop.

Also, on a clean install and Doran's DL, before making the config.ini ReadOnly, I disabled update, ran darkspace.exe, did the update, AND ran the Setup program from the lobby button. This may be a requirement as the setup writes information to the ini file. Then I redid the disable update, then made the file Readonly.

Point of importance; If you only run the GCQL.exe, it will put you in the Release lobby. Make sure you goto the Beta lobby before Updating. Also on exiting the server it put me in the release lobby, no big deal.

Works fine for me now, thanks guys for the help.

In case you did not know, DO NOT PRESS UPDATE if you are not in the proper lobby. It will update your version to the current lobby and realy mess you up good :/


[ This Message was edited by: Ğrow on 2006-02-12 20:57 ]
_________________
Nindol tangi, dos zhal zah'har l' jiv'undus d'
natha szithrel Tagnik'zun elggor

  ICQ status
Doran
Chief Marshal
Galactic Navy


Joined: March 29, 2003
Posts: 4026
From: The Gideon Unit
Posted: 2006-02-13 11:20   
blast,... been trying to update beta, does either one of two things
after pressing update the download speed will steadily decrease and the time remaining will increase, evenutally timeing out (~27kb/s down to >2, over an hour left, and 2%complete)
or will start out under 0.5kb/s and be over 300 hours remaining by the time it times out

updating .exes and .dlls goes fine but its just stalling on the wobs when i get into the lobby
_________________


  ICQ status
BackSlash
Midshipman
Galactic Navy


Joined: March 23, 2003
Posts: 11178
From: Bristol, England
Posted: 2006-02-13 12:06   
I downloaded the beta again (just to make sure I had a clean install) but got Drows problem... Deleted the config file, tried to update, seemed to work but I only got into the normal lobby. Just went over to beta, deleted config, and hit update. Hopefully that will work... If not, looks like it's Doran's way or the highway!
_________________


  Goto the website of BackSlash
BackSlash
Midshipman
Galactic Navy


Joined: March 23, 2003
Posts: 11178
From: Bristol, England
Posted: 2006-02-13 12:41   
Now the client won't even launch. I can just get into GCQL (which takes forever).
_________________


  Goto the website of BackSlash
Nim *
Chief Marshal
Courageous Elite Commandos


Joined: September 05, 2004
Posts: 295
Posted: 2006-02-13 12:54   
Takes forever to get into gcql for me as well.. but i can get into the game though
_________________


BackSlash
Midshipman
Galactic Navy


Joined: March 23, 2003
Posts: 11178
From: Bristol, England
Posted: 2006-02-13 13:06   
I've updated, I've restarted. Still the client won't launch.
_________________


  Goto the website of BackSlash
Doran
Chief Marshal
Galactic Navy


Joined: March 29, 2003
Posts: 4026
From: The Gideon Unit
Posted: 2006-02-13 13:31   
Updated my above link to the client, includes the recent update, not including the data folder, but should be enough to get you into the beta lobby if you're having problems
_________________


  ICQ status
Drow
Fleet Admiral

Joined: June 06, 2003
Posts: 449
From: USA, WI
Posted: 2006-02-13 18:17   
After using Dorans DL, and fixing the ini. I have no problems lauching, its fast and smooth. Updating can take a while though, it locks up for a bit then continues.
_________________
Nindol tangi, dos zhal zah'har l' jiv'undus d'
natha szithrel Tagnik'zun elggor

  ICQ status
Doran
Chief Marshal
Galactic Navy


Joined: March 29, 2003
Posts: 4026
From: The Gideon Unit
Posted: 2006-02-14 20:55   
one more copy, fully updated as of time of this post, client files and all the wobs, 45.2mb, should be just drop in and go
http://files.filefront.com/DS_BETA_CLIENTzip/;4763825;;/fileinfo.html

if you want JUST the client (minus the data files) look here
http://files.filefront.com/DS_BETA_CLIENTONLYzip/;4772751;;/fileinfo.html

and since people seem to be missing this point, EXTRACT to your DARKSPACE BETA folder, let it OVERWRITE the files there, then LOGIN with the beta client as normal. like as not you'll be in the release lobby, just press the green lobby button, select darkspace beta and update to get the latest .wobs

[ This Message was edited by: Doran on 2006-02-17 11:54 ]
_________________


  ICQ status
Nimitz
Fleet Admiral
Courageous Elite Commandos


Joined: April 19, 2005
Posts: 141
From: Melbourne, Australia
Posted: 2006-02-17 00:44   
Got the "A error occured on the server. please try again later" message. Downloading your copy of the client and game files. Thanks Doran.

Edit: I've managed to successfully log in to beta using Doran's files. Had to download winzip 10 to extract though, not even latest version of rar could do it.

[ This Message was edited by: Nimitz *T2* on 2006-02-17 06:15 ]
_________________
\"Programming today is a race between software engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot proof programs, and the Universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots. So far, the Universe is winning.\" -- Rich Cook

Doran
Chief Marshal
Galactic Navy


Joined: March 29, 2003
Posts: 4026
From: The Gideon Unit
Posted: 2006-02-17 11:35   
thats probably due to the compression settings, ill get a rar version up in 5..4..3..

http://files.filefront.com/DS_BETA_CLIENTONLYrar/;4775479;;/fileinfo.html
same as the zip version, just a different format

and since people seem to be missing this point, EXTRACT to your DARKSPACE BETA folder, let it OVERWRITE the files there, then LOGIN with the beta client as normal. like as not you'll be in the release lobby, just press the green lobby button, select darkspace beta and update to get the latest .wobs

[ This Message was edited by: Doran on 2006-02-17 11:54 ]
_________________


  ICQ status
Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next Page )
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Page created in 0.016638 seconds.


Copyright ©2000-2018 by Palestar, All rights reserved worldwide.
Terms of use - DarkSpace is a Registered Trademark of PALESTAR
Best viewed with Internet Explorer 5+.